Company profile

Market value of wind and solar energy 

The market value of wind and solar power – their $/MWh revenue from spot markets – tends to decline as deployment increases. We have quantified this “value drop” for different jurisdictions in a range of projects and explored possibilities to mitigate the value drop.

(Whole) System costs

Wind- and solar-based power generation fluctuates, is subject to forecast errors, and requires grid expansion. The related costs are called “system costs“. Neon has done qualitative and quantitative studies of system costs.

Market design

The design of wholesale and retail power markets determines the incentives to produce and consume electricity. Good market design leads to efficient investments and operation, bad market design to waste and – in the extreme – to blackouts. We have worked on power market design in various projects.

Balancing power

Balancing power is used to quickly restore the supply-demand balance in power systems. The need for this tends to be increased by the use of wind and solar power. Neon provides expertise on balancing power, based on empirical studies and sound economics.

Power market modeling

We model wholesale electricity markets using EMMA. EMMA simultaneously models (hourly) dispatch and (yearly) investments in power plants. It calculates the  capacity mix as well as hourly prices, generation, and cross-border trade for each market area. We use EMMA for studies and help our clients to use EMMA, an open-source model, themselves. 

Data processing

Big Data has reached the energy sector: policy making and investment decisions rely increasingly on large-scale statistical and numerical models. These models are data-intensive. We deliver such data to clients and support them building up a modern data infrastructure.

Training seminars

We train analysts and decision makers in power markets and energy economics, providing both introductory seminars for people new in the field as well as in-depth workshops on current economic and policy issues.

Unternehmensprofil

Marktwert von Wind- und Solarstrom

Der Marktwert von Wind- und Solarstrom – der Börsenerlös  in €/MWh – sinkt mit steigendem Marktanteil. Neon hat diesen Effekt in einer Reihe von Studien quantifiziert und Maßnahmen untersucht, um den Wertverlust zu mildern.

Integrationskosten

Erneuerbare Energien, insbesondere Wind- und Solarenergie, haben signifikanten Einfluss auf Strommärkte, Netze und den Einsatz konventioneller Erzeuger. Wir quantifizieren diese Effekte mit Modellen und Marktanalysen und interpretieren sie in einen konsistenten ökonomischen Rahmen von “Integrationskosten“.

Marktdesign

Das Design von Groß- und Einzelhandelsmärkten bestimmt die Anreize Strom zu erzeugen und zu verbrauchen. Ein gutes Marktdesign sorgt für Effizienz und das Erreichen politischer Ziele, ein schlechtes für Verschwendung und – im Extremfall – Blackouts. Neon hat in einer Reihe von Projekten zu Marktdesign gearbeitet.

Regelleistung

Die Ausgestaltung der Strommärkte Europas ändert sich kontinuierlich. Details im Marktdesign können für die Profitabilität spezifischer Investitionen oder den Erfolg einzelner Politikinstrumente entscheidend sein. neon bietet Expertise sowohl hinsichtlich Design sowohl von Spot-Märkten als auch von Märkten für Systemdienstleistungen – insbesondere Regelleistung.

Strommarktmodellierung

Der zukünftige Strompreis ist nicht nur Grundlage für Investitions- und Strategieentscheidungen, sondern auch für Politik. Wir entwickeln gemeinsam mit Kunden konsistente Szenarien und modellieren mittel- und langfristige Strompreise mit EMMA . Solche Prognosen umfassen sowohl Preisniveau als auch Preisstruktur bis hin zu stundenscharfer Auflösung. Außerdem unterstützen wir unsere Kunden bei der Anwendung des open-source Modells EMMA.

Datenverarbeitung

Big Data ist im Energiesektor angekommen: politische wie wirtschaftliche Entscheidungen zunehmend auf statistischen oder numerischen Modellen. Solche Modelle sind datenintensiv. Wir liefern Daten zur Stromsystemmodellierung und unterstützen Kunden beim Aufbau einer modernen Daten-Infrastruktur.

Schulungen und Trainings

Wir bieten Weiterbildungsseminare für Analysten und Entscheidungsträgern zu Strommärkten & Energiewirtschaft, von Einführungsseminaren für Branchenneulinge bis zu Workshops in aktuellen ökonomischen und energiepolitischen Themen.